1. Home
  2. General functionalities
  3. Bulk edit for analysis and verification

Bulk edit for analysis and verification

Do you have changes that apply to a whole bunch of rows in your analysis or verification table? If so, you will probably want to do a bulk action.

With this feature, you can edit analysis and verification data for multiple requirements with just one click.

Keep reading this article for step-by-step guidance for how to do this.

Please note: as the name implies, the bulk edit can have a large impact on your data set — which cannot be undone. If you’re unsure about how it works, try it out in a sandbox clone of your model first. Alternatively, first make a static version of the model as a backup.

Step 1: Select data set

The bulk action is being applied to the data selection on your screen. So, it is important to make sure that you have selected the right requirements and/or verifications. This can be done in two ways:

  • (Pre)selections: these are selection possibilities that you get before you enter the table (to go there, click on selection at the top of your table). E.g. a particular tree part or project phase.
  • Column filters: these are the filters that are available at the top of each table column (the icon). E.g. a particular requirement type or object.
In this example, the requirement type column has been used to select all requirements in the project concerning usable floor area. This is the data-set to which we want to apply the bulk edit.

Please note: In case of large amounts of data, your selection may stretch multiple pages (see bottom of your screen). All these pages are part of your data set.

Step 2: Define bulk edit

After you have made your selection, click on the bulk edit button () which you can find at the top of the table.

When doing so, you will first get a pop-up screen in which you can define the bulk edits you wish to perform on the selected requirements and/or verifications.

Each item shown corresponds with a column in your table.

First you have select the item that you want to edit (e.g. person responsible for a verification) by clicking on the checkbox in front of it. Next, you can define the action that you want to apply (e.g. selecting a particular person).

In the example above, we define that the selected requirements should be verified (in the selected phases) and that it is ‘Architect A’ who is responsible for these verifications. Note that you first have click on the checkbox of the item that you want to edit.
(click on image to enlarge)

When doing a bulk edit for verification data, please be aware that verifications are linked to phases. If you have not (pre)selected or filtered on a particular phase, your edits will be applied to all verification phases.

When you done with defining your edit actions, click on the next button.

Step 3: Confirm bulk edit

In this screen, you get to see an overview of the edits that you are about to make.

For each edit, you will see to how many requirements or verifications it is applied. Furthermore, you see both the present value and the new value it will get once you have applied the bulk action.

See the example below:

Confirmation screen (click on image to enlarge)

The screen above tells you that you are about to make the following edits:

Four verifications will be affected, although that is not really a change from the earlier situation because you go from Verify? Yes Yes. (the current and the new value are thus the same).

The real change is that you are switching the responsible person for these verifications from Engineer A (current value) Architect B (new value).

NB. If you are not happy with your selection, you should click on the cancel button. If you want to redefine your edits, you can click on the previous button.

Step 4: Apply bulk edit

Once you have reviewed the planned actions — and have ensured that you are happy with them — you can click on the button apply bulk action.

The processing of this action may take some time, depending on how bulky your bulk action is. When finished, you will get a message that says operation has been completed.

Summary

The bulk edit is a powerful feature for edit large amounts of analysis and/or verification data. Please be careful however in selecting the data you want to edit as this action is irreversible. As Peter Parker said: “with great power comes great responsibility”.  

Was this article helpful?

Need Support?
Can't find the answer you're looking for? Don't worry we're here to help!
CONTACT SUPPORT

Leave a Comment