1. Home
  2. Verification / compliance
  3. Verification permissions

Verification permissions

Using BriefBuilders’ roles and permission configuration you can control which users can perform which functions related to planning and execution of verifications.

Default Roles related to verification

When creating a new project, the roles displayed above will be available by default.

As you can see, the Requirements manager has almost every permission. The Verification manager role is set up to configure and create verification plans as well as configuring the verification results and demonstration documents.

The Verification editor role has the Edit all objects permission for verification results. This means anything regarding verification results (e.g., outcome, note) can be changed by this role. In contrast, the Verification executor role only has permission to Edit assigned objects for verification results. This means that if a user only has this role/permission, they can only edit verification results that they have been explicitly assigned to.

As such, a Verification executor role is more suited for a user logging onto BriefBuilder only to verify their own set of requirements (and not that of others).

Applying the ‘Edit assigned objects’ permission

In order to properly use the Edit assigned objects permission for verification results, the following steps need to be taken:

  • Make sure that the default verification plan standard property Responsible is configured with input type ‘User / Role / Organisation’. Otherwise, you will not be able to assign users to specific verifications.
  • Make sure that all the necessary users have the Edit assigned objects permission for verification result. This is the case for default role Verification executor. If you have deleted this default role from your project, you simply need to create a new role that has the Edit assigned objects permission (see below).
  • Head over to the verification table. There, you can assign specific verification plans to users by clicking on Responsible. Make sure to assign the same responsible users that you just gave the new permission role in the previous step.
Assigned verification plans

Note: there are three ways to assign a verification plan:

– Assign to a User (see the first row, assigned to Timothy Jackson)
– Assign to an Organisation (see the third row, assigned to organisation BriefBuilder)
– Assign to a Role (see the last row, assigned to role Architect)

Now you are all done. In the example above the user ‘Timothy Jackson’ is logged in and can access the first (directly assigned to him), the third (assigned to his Organisation) and last verification result (assigned to a role he has), but cannot access the second verification result because it is assigned to someone else.

Was this article helpful?

Need Support?
Can't find the answer you're looking for? Don't worry we're here to help!
CONTACT SUPPORT