1. Home
  2. General functionalities
  3. Creating and managing projects

Creating and managing projects

In your project environment you can see an overview of all the projects to which you have viewing and/or editing rights.

This is the place where you can access, create, delete, clone and publish projects (depending on the role that you have). Administrators can also view and restore backups here.

To get to the project overview, you can click on the BriefBuilder logo, or click on project management in the menu that is available in the upper right corner of your screen.

Creating new projects

If you want to create a new project, click on the icon, next to the Active Projects title.

A new window will pop up where you will be able to

(1) Choose the language for the project.
(2) Put in a Project name.

Click on Add to add this new project to your ‘Active Projects’ list. You will be instantly transported to the Project Home of the new project.

Actions for projects

Behind the name of each project (version), there is a series of controls visible (for users with edit rights). Each represents a different action. If you hover your cursor over the symbols you will be able to see what you can use them for.

Below, we will explain the main actions for a project.

Comparing versions

By clicking on the compare button, you will get a Word report that outlines the differences between this version and the previous version of the project (sometimes also referred to as baselining).

You can find the “diff report” in the download folder of your computer. This report can be quite extensive, but it also very useful in communicating the changes that have been made in between two versions.

In the Word report, deleted data is marked in red, new data in green, and modified data in een yellow.

TIP: provide the project team with a “diff report” each time you publish a new version.

Versioning

By clicking on the versioning button, you create a ‘view only’ version of the model, which you can then also publish if you want to.

Typically, you create a dedicated version at the beginning of each project stage (e.g. concept design, detail design etc.). See more about versioning here.

To see the differences between two project versions, use the aforementioned compare button.

Editing a project’s name

To edit an existing project’s name, click on the edit button in the project’s task bar.

A new window will pop up where you will be able to edit or change the project’s current name into a different one.

Cloning projects

Projects can be cloned to create new projects. This is particularly relevant if you have developed a template project (e.g. “Template for schools”) that you want to use as a basis for specific projects (e.g. “School ABC”).

To clone a project, click on the clone symbol  in the project’s task bar.

A new window will pop up where you will be able to put in the cloned project’s name.

Click Save to clone the project under its new name. You will be instantly transported to the Project Home of the cloned project.

TIP: When you clone a template project as the basis for a new project, immediately make a published version of that new project. Thereby, you can easily track in what ways the project model will be different from the project template.

Deleting projects

To delete projects, click on the bin icon in the project’s task bar.

A new window will pop up asking you for confirmation of the project’s deletion. Click delete to confirm. The project will be removed from the projects overview and you will no longer be able to view it.

Please note: Deleted projects are moved to the bin, which can be accessed by clicking Deleted Projects in the upper left corner.

There, you will be able to find a list of projects that have been deleted in the past 7 days. Any deleted project will remain here for that same duration.

You will be able to undo a deletion by clicking on the icon  in the project’s task bar.

Archiving projects

To archive projects, click on the icon in the project’s task bar.

When you archive a project, it will be moved to the archive section in the projects overview. There, the project will no longer be editable. All account rights will be revoked.

Your administrator can easily restore archived project by clicking on the icon in the project’s task bar.

Updated on 6 October 2020

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Leave a Comment